Follow Us

Call for Expressions of Interest: Journal of Sociology Editorship 2021 – 2024

Expressions of interest should be emailed to TASA Admin by  9am Monday June 1, 2020.

You can read more about the Journal of Sociology here and keep up-to-date via Twitter: @JSociology

The TASA Executive seeks to appoint a new editorial team for the Journal of Sociology for the four-year term 2021–2024.

Journal of Sociology features high quality sociological scholarship in all its forms. We are dedicated to showcasing theory as well as applied sociology, quantitative and qualitative research. Interdisciplinary pieces are welcome, as are submissions from outside the academy. Based in the Southern Hemisphere and committed to intellectual works from the Asia-Pacific region, including Indigenous scholarship, we also encourage submissions from across the globe. 

The term of the current editors expires at the end of this year, although copy for the first issue of 2021 will be organised. The journal receives financial and administrative assistance from TASA and from the publisher, Sage. Manuscript submission is done on-line through ScholarOne.

All members of the editorial team (Editors-in-Chief and Associate Editors) must be TASA members and ideally will be located within a department of sociology or a School/unit that offers a major sequence of sociology, including doctoral studies. The Executive are willing to consider applications from an editorial team at a single university or a consortia of staff at two or more universities. Such consortia will be required to demonstrate that they have the capability to work effectively across locations. TASA will provide the Managing Editor with a complimentary TASA membership.

Applicants are also required to show that they have institutional support for the management of the journal, and to specify the nature of this support. Selection protocols and application instructions are available here.

Further information is available from the TASA President, Associate Professor Dan Woodman or from the current Editors in Chief, Associate Professor Kate Huppatz and Associate Professor Steve Matthewman.