Officers, Board, and other Leadership, 2018-2022

The RC22 leadership team consists of three Officers and ten Board Members, plus appointees for special projects.  The Board and Officers serve for four year terms, beginning and ending with the ISA World Congresses.   Each major world region is represented.  The Past President serves on the Board ex officio.

  • President: Afe ADOGAME, Princeton Theological Seminary, USA
  • Vice-President: Mar GRIERA, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Anna HALAFOFF, Deakin University, Australia
  • Board Members
    Lovemore NDLOVU, Zimbabwe
    Michael OKYEREFO, University of Ghana, Ghana
    Hossein GODAZGAR, University of Warwick, UK
    SAKURAI Yoshihide, Hokkaido University, Japan
    Milda ALIŠAUSKIENĖ, Vytautas Magnus University, Lithuania
    Olga BRESKAYA, University of Padua, Italy
    Latin America
    Roberta Bivar CAMPOS, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil
    Juan Cruz ESQUIVEL, 
    National Research Council, Argentina
    North America
    Jualynne DODSON, Michigan State University, USA
    Conrad HACKETT, Pew Research Center, USA
  • Past President: Jim SPICKARD, University of Redlands, USA
  • Liaison with Other Scholarly Organizations in the Sociology of Religion:
    SISR/ISSR: SAKURAI Yoshihide, Hokkaido University, Japan
  • Program Coordinators for the 19th World Congress of Sociology, Toronto, Canada, July 2018:
    Anna HALAFOFF, Deakin University
    Carolyn STARKEY, University of Leeds
    Sam HAN, University of Western Australia
  • Program Coordinator(s) for the 4th Forum of Sociology, Porto Alegre, Brazil, July 2020:
    Eloísa MARTÍN, United Arab Emirates University
    Roberta Bivar CAMPOS, Universidade Federal de Pernambuco, Brazil
    Juan Cruz ESQUIVEL, 
    National Research Council, Argentina
  • Program Coordinators for the 20th World Congress of Sociology, Melbourne, Australia, July 2022:

Elections for President, Secretary/Treasurer, and Board Members occur in the Spring before each World Congress.  The Board appoints one of more Vice-Presidents.  After consulting the Board, the President appoints liaisons with other scholarly organizations.  The President also appoints Program Coordinators for our various conferences.


RC-22 was established in order to expand the role of the Sociology of Religion in the International Sociological Association.  The Research Committee:

  • provides opportunities for personal and institutional contacts between sociologists of religion worldwide;
  • encourages the dissemination of social-scientific knowledge about religion;
  • facilitates and promotes international meetings between sociologists of religion in many countries;
  • assists graduate students in the sociology of religion in broadening their international awareness;
  • helps under-represented countries use RC-22 resources and facilities.

Link to RC-22 Statutes (PDF)

Link to a list of Past RC-22 Officers and Board Members