Follow Us

Send us your news and events!

Mail them to communications@isa-rc22.org
(No attachments!)

Subscribe to our News & Events Blog

Follow us on Twitter

Webinar Series: Decolonial Research Methods

Decolonial Research Methods webinar series with Vineeta Sinha, Linda T. Smith, Raewyn Connell, Walter Mignolo, Sujata Patel & Jeong-Eun Rhee

Free Registration at https://deco-metho.eventbrite.co.uk/

About this event


 Decolonial Research Methods (Webinar Series) image

While the popularisation of a coherent decolonial paradigm may be one of the most significant developments within academia in recent years, there has not been enough focus on the implications of this ‘decolonial turn’ for research methods and methodologies. In this webinar series, eminent decolonial experts will reflect on some of the key issues relating to the coloniality/decoloniality of academic research methods and methodologies. This webinar series will prompt academic researchers to explore the ways in which academic research may either reinforce or dislodge colonial discourses.


Prof Vineeta Sinha (National University of Singapore)

26th October 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 05:00 ~ Cape Town: 10:00 ~ Tehran: 11:30 ~ Jakarta: 15:00

Prof Linda T. Smith (Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi)

2nd November 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 03:00 ~ Cape Town: 08:00 ~ Tehran: 9:30 ~ Jakarta: 13:00

Prof Raewyn Connell (University of Sydney)

9th November 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 04:00 ~ Cape Town: 09:00 ~ Tehran: 10:30 ~ Jakarta: 14:00

Prof Walter Mignolo (Duke University)

23rd November 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 11:00 ~ Cape Town: 16:00 ~ Tehran: 17:30 ~ Jakarta: 21:00

Prof Sujata Patel (Umeå University)

30th November 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 05:00 ~ Cape Town: 10:00 ~ Tehran: 11:30 ~ Jakarta: 15:00

Prof Jeong-Eun Rhee (Long Island University, Post)

7th December 2021

Rio de Janeiro: 09:00 ~ Cape Town: 14:00 ~ Tehran: 15:30 ~ Jakarta: 19:00


The webinar series has been organised by Dr Leon Moosavi, Senior Lecturer in the Department of Sociology, Social Policy and Criminology at the University of Liverpool and Director of the University of Liverpool in Singapore

The webinar series has been funded by the National Centre for Research Methods (UK)